<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>sohummm.com &#187; registration</title>
	<atom:link href="http://blog.sohummm.com/tag/registration/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://blog.sohummm.com</link>
	<description>doing it the non-custom way</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Fri, 16 Jul 2010 06:32:08 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0</generator>
		<item>
		<title>APNS.hk: internet fraud scam</title>
		<link>http://blog.sohummm.com/technology/apns-hk-internet-fraud-scam/</link>
		<comments>http://blog.sohummm.com/technology/apns-hk-internet-fraud-scam/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 07 Jan 2010 15:38:25 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>sohum</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[technology]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[.cn]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[.com]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[.hk]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[apns.hk]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[brandscapesworldwide]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[citters international]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[domain]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[registration]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[tld]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blog.sohummm.com/?p=208</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[This morning I woke up to an email for one of the domains I own, with the following text: Dear CEO, We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the global companies&#8217; domain name registration and internet Intellectual property right protection in Asia. Currently, we have a pretty [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This morning I woke up to an email for one of the domains I own, with the following text:</p>
<blockquote><p>Dear CEO,</p>
<p>We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the global companies&#8217; domain name registration and internet Intellectual property right protection in Asia. Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.<br />
On January 6. 2010, we received an application formally. One company named &#8220;Citters International, Inc&#8221; wanted to applied for the network Keyword &#8220;brandscapesworldwide&#8221; and some domain names through our body.</p>
<p>Now we are handling with the registration of find that the keyword of these domain names and network keyword is identical with your company&#8217;s. So we have to confirm with you at two points:<br />
1. If your company consign Citters company to register these domain names and network Keyword, we will send application form to them and help them finish the registration at once.<br />
2. If your company have nothing to do with Citters company, they maybe have other purposes to register these domain names and network Keyword.</p>
<p>I want to confirm that are you the corporate representative of this company? If you do, I will feedback some problems to you; if you do not, please send my words to your company&#8217;s coprorate representative or lawyer. We need your answer of force adeffect. In order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.</p>
<p>Waiting for your reply ASAP.</p>
<p>Best Regards,<br />
Karl</p>
<p>Auditing Department</p></blockquote>
<p>At first I was afraid, I was petrified&#8230;. oh wait, that&#8217;s a song. But anyways, I tried going to APNS.hk (the domain listed as the website for this company) and they did not exist. I then Googled the company and found a wealth of similarly worded emails that have been largely considered a scam. Apparently what this company does is prowl the WHOIS database to find companies that have only registered a .com TLD and don&#8217;t have the other TLD&#8217;s, specifically the .cn and .hk ones. Then, they send this strongly worded and poorly grammatical email to the admin and tech contact listed in the WHOIS, spurring them into action. I suspect their eventual goal is to sell the .cn and .hk and possibly other domains at highly inflated prices to these hapless domain owners.<br />
Not exactly a scam, or fraud, but kind of unpleasant anyway. Just posting this so that anyone else who encounters such an email in the future can take heed!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://blog.sohummm.com/technology/apns-hk-internet-fraud-scam/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>4</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
